Eaton Bray are champions of the Four Counties League. Since its inception in 2001, the club has won the....
Skip navigation

Eaton Bray Cricket Club

Posted on October 2, 2008

This article was published in October 2008. Please see Latest News for more recent information.

CricketEaton Bray are champions of the Four Counties League. Since its inception in 2001, the club has won the league four times, but not for the last four years. Recently the trophy has been on an extended loan to other clubs before Andy Norris secured the division one title at his first attempt. Andy's tougher style of captaincy has worked perfectly, putting the team ahead of individual performances, including his own.

Winning the championship wasn't without difficulty, indeed the club suffered the ignominy of losing a match by 300 runs, being bowled out by 32 by the eventual runners-up New Bradwell. This was the biggest defeat in the club's and league's history!

The season was one of two halves. In the first part Wes Hoskin, James Flecknell and Gary Ellerton bullied most teams into submission with bat and ball. However in the latter stages of the league programme the games got tougher with Eaton Bray batting second. There were three almost identical run chases that Eaton Bray made difficult.

The highlight of the season was the game against Newport Pagnell, when chasing 164 Eaton Bray had been reduced to 77 for 6. All-rounders Gary Ellerton and Lee Bearton beat the opposition single handedly (sic). In two other games Paul (Chopper) Harris showed his maturity by batting throughout the innings and scoring 2 unbeaten half centuries. Nick Pearson chipped in just at the right time against Cublington. But perhaps the best and most valuable innings was played by Josh Peacock in the last game of the season. Josh scored his only half century of the season in that game. It was a match, and championship winning innings full of champagne shots.

The club wishes to share its success with everyone that helped throughout the season. A BIG thank you to; sponsors, weed sprayers, 100 club owners, cleaners, supporters, tea ladies, groundsmen and to all the suffering wives and girlfriends!

-- MJ

Eaton Bray Cricket Club 2008
Back row; John Salmon, Darren Kerins, Josh Peacock, James Flecknell, Wes Hoskin, Dave Hopkins, Gary Ellerton
Front row; Michael Jarrett, Nick Pearson, Andy Norris, Paul Harris

Source: Focus, October 2008

Reader Comments

Be the first to comment on this article using the form below.

Comment on This Article:

All HTML, except <i>, <b>, <u> will require your comment to be moderated before it is publicly displayed.
If you would like your own avatar displayed, read about comment avatars.

Your Email Address will not be made public.
On submission of your comment, a cookie may be stored on your local device as described in our Privacy Policy.